Insights: High Court of Telangana

- The President of India, on 26 December, 2018, issued orders bifurcating the High Court of Judicature at Hyderabad for the State of Telangana and the State of Andhra Pradesh. Thus, the High Court of Telangana came into being from 1st January, 2019 with the principal seat at Hyderabad.
- There are currently thirteen sitting judges and Justice Hima Kohli is the chief justice.
- The court has had only two female judges, Chief Justice Hima Kohli and Justice Gandikota Sri Devi.
- All the judges except one are Hindus and most of the judges belong to the general category.
- Majority of the judges' parent high court is either Telangana or Andhra Pradesh and majority became judges through the bar cadre.
- Only three judges have experience in the subordinate judiciary.
- All the judges do have litigation experience and majority of the judges have had chamber practice.
- Majority of the judges were enrolled in the Andhra Pradesh State Bar Association.
- Five of the judges have held chief justice positions and three of them have served as chief justice of the Telangana High Court.
- Only one of the judges who have served in the high court was appointed to the Supreme Court Justice V. Ramasubramanian.